8 tools, one workload, the bill for each
Best OpusClip alternatives in 2026: 8 clip makers compared on price
Eight tools that turn a long video into short clips, compared on what a weekly podcast actually costs, what each plan locks, and what happens to credits you do not use. Every number comes from the vendor's own page. Cliphi is ours; the page says where it loses.
Prices checked September 14, 2026
or
Using video you don't own may violate copyright laws. By continuing, you confirm you have the rights to use this video.
At a glance
Tools compared
8, plus OpusClip
Each read on its own pricing page and help center on September 14, 2026.
Same weekly podcast costs
$2.76 to $32 a month
One hour a week, ten 45-second clips per episode. Cliphi lowest, Choppity Creator highest at monthly prices.
State a rollover policy
3 of 9
Cliphi (never expires), Vizard (2 or 13 months) and OpusClip (60 days or 12 months). The other six do not say.
The short answer
For a creator who posts several clips per video, Cliphi is the cheapest of the eight for a weekly podcast (about $2.76 of credits a month, on a $4.99 plan) and the only one where every feature is on the entry plan and credits never expire. Vizard is the best-reviewed and the pick for 4K or teams. Klap is cheapest when you take a handful of clips from very long footage and can pay yearly. Submagic is the caption and B-roll specialist, Descript the editor, Choppity the all-in-one with scheduling and analytics. OpusClip itself remains a fine choice if you use AI B-roll or export timelines to Premiere.
Pick Cliphi if
- You post several clips per video and want the bill tied to what you render.
- You want credits that never expire, a monthly bill, and no feature ladder.
- You clip livestreams while they are live or drive the tool from an AI assistant.
Pick another tool if
- You need 4K (Vizard, Submagic Business, Descript Creator, Kapwing Pro).
- You need team seats and a shared workspace (Vizard Business, Choppity Team, Submagic Pro).
- You need B-roll insertion (OpusClip, Vizard, Submagic) or a full timeline editor (Descript, Kapwing).
The list, ranked for a solo creator
- 1
Cliphi
Several clips per video, livestreams$4.99/mo, 1,200 credits that never expire
Cheapest of the eight for a weekly podcast and the only one with every feature on the entry plan. Loses on 4K, B-roll and team seats, and has no free plan.
- 2
Vizard
4K output and teams$29/mo, or $14.50/mo billed yearly
Best reviewed of the group (4.7 from 2,520 on Trustpilot) with 600 minutes a month. Credits are valid 2 months on monthly plans and 13 on yearly.
- 3
Klap
Few clips from very long footage$14/mo billed yearly ($168 up front)
Per-clip pricing makes a six-hour stream cheap. The yearly-only bill and a 3.4 Trustpilot score from 42 reviews are the caution.
- 4
Submagic
Caption styling and B-roll$19/mo, or $12/mo billed yearly
Caption tool first, clipper second, with Storyblocks B-roll on Pro. The pricing page does not say what happens to unused credits.
- 5
Descript
Editing by transcript$16/mo, or $12/mo billed yearly
A full editor that also finds clips. AI features consume credits, and heavy users report running out; 2.7 from 286 on Trustpilot.
- 6
Choppity
Clip, schedule and measure in one tool$20/mo, or $14/mo billed yearly
Clipping, scheduling and analytics under one login. A weekly podcast needs the $32 Creator plan, since Starter's 3 hours run out.
- 7
quso.ai
Cheap scheduler to 6 platforms$29/mo, or $19/mo billed yearly
Scheduler with clipping attached, formerly vidyo.ai. The pricing page does not state what a credit buys in minutes.
- 8
Kapwing
Editor first, clips second$24/mo, or $16/mo billed yearly
Browser editor with an AI Clip Maker on top and 4K on Pro. Trustpilot 1.9 from 1,370 reviews; the recurring complaint is basic features behind the subscription.
What decides the bill
The meter decides the bill
Five of the eight charge per minute of source video, one per clip, one per hour of analysis, one per media hour plus AI credits. The same podcast costs from about $2.76 to $32 a month depending only on which meter you are on.
Expiry is the hidden price
OpusClip credits expire after 60 days on monthly plans. Vizard's after 2 months. Cliphi's never do. Several vendors do not state a policy at all, which usually means you find out later.
The plan decides the output
Watermarks on free tiers, 720p until you pay, 4K two tiers up, scheduling on Pro, aspect ratios on Pro. Cliphi is the only tool here whose plans differ by credits alone.
What switching to Cliphi looks like
- 1
Paste the video you would give OpusClip
A YouTube link, a Twitch or Kick VOD, a podcast episode, or an upload. Livestreams work while they are still live.
- 2
Pick from the moments Cliphi found
Every moment comes back scored, framed to the speaker, captioned and set to music. You choose which ones to render.
- 3
Download or publish
Save the finished clips or push them to YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, Threads or X from inside Cliphi.
The 8 OpusClip alternatives at a glance
Ranked for a solo creator or small channel that posts several clips from each long video. The last column is Trustpilot as read on September 14, 2026; treat the small samples as anecdotes, not verdicts.
| Tool | Best for | Entry paid plan | What is metered | Free tier | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Cliphi | Several clips per video; livestreams; no feature ladder | $4.99/mo, 1,200 credits | 1 credit per source minute + 0.25 per rendered second; credits never expire | No | No listing |
| 2. Vizard | 4K output, teams, best-reviewed | $29/mo or $14.50 yearly, 600 min/mo | 1 credit per minute; valid 2 months (monthly) or 13 (yearly) | 60 min/mo, 720p, watermark | 4.7 (2,520) |
| 3. Klap | Few clips from very long footage | $14/mo billed yearly, 100 clips/mo | Per clip; monthly price not shown | First video, no watermark | 3.4 (42) |
| 4. Submagic | Caption styling and B-roll | $19/mo or $12 yearly, 15 videos/mo | Credits per video; rollover not stated | Not on the pricing page | 4.5 (837) |
| 5. Descript | Editing by transcript | $16/mo or $12 yearly, 10 media hours | Media hours plus AI credits (400/mo) | 1 hour, 720p, watermark | 2.7 (286) |
| 6. Choppity | Clip, schedule and measure in one tool | $20/mo or $14 yearly, 3 hours of analysis | Hours of AI analysis; projects kept 30 days on Starter | 1 hour, 3-day storage | 3.3 (16) |
| 7. quso.ai | Cheap scheduler to 6 platforms | $29/mo or $19 yearly, 100 credits (200 on annual) | Credits; per-minute rate not stated | 75 credits, 720p, 7-day retention | 1 review |
| 8. Kapwing | Editor first, clips second | $24/mo or $16 yearly, 1,000 credits | Credits; clip cost not stated | 720p, watermark, 4-min exports | 1.9 (1,370) |
| OpusClip (for reference) | AI B-roll, Premiere export, large template gallery | $15/mo, 150 min (monthly only) | 1 credit per source minute; expire after 60 days | 60 min/mo, watermark, 3-day projects | 4.0 (491) |
Prices and policies read on each vendor's pricing page or help center on September 14, 2026. Trustpilot scores are time-weighted by Trustpilot and shown with the review count.
Why people leave OpusClip
The complaints are about policy more than clips, and they are on OpusClip's own help center.
- Monthly-plan credits expire 60 days after they are issued; yearly credits after 12 months; credits left after a cancellation keep their original expiry.
- Projects are deleted 3 days after creation on Free and 30 days on Starter and Pro unless saved to cloud storage, and cannot be recovered.
- Free and Starter post to YouTube, TikTok and Instagram only; X, Facebook, LinkedIn and scheduling start at Pro. Only Pro outputs 16:9 and 1:1 as well as 9:16.
- Starter is monthly-only at $15 for 150 minutes, 10 cents per uploaded minute whether or not a clip from it is worth posting.
- Trustpilot on September 14, 2026: 4.0 from 491 reviews, 20 percent one-star; recurring themes are support response time, upload failures and expiring credits. The full comparison is on the Cliphi vs OpusClip page.
How we compared them
Four questions, answered from each vendor's own pricing page and help center rather than from other roundups, all on the same day. First, what does one standard workload cost: a weekly one-hour podcast with ten 45-second clips, so 240 source minutes and 40 clips a month. Second, what does the plan lock: watermark, resolution, aspect ratios, publishing, seats. Third, what happens to credits or minutes you do not use. Fourth, what does the tool do that the others do not. We did not score clip quality, because that depends on your footage; the fair test is to run one of your own videos through the two or three finalists, which every tool here lets you do cheaply or free.
| Tool | Plan the weekly podcast needs | Monthly cost | Unused allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cliphi | Explorer $4.99 (690 of 1,200 credits used) | $4.99, about $2.76 of it used | Rolls over, never expires |
| Vizard | Creator (240 of 600 minutes) | $29, or $14.50 billed yearly | Rolls over; each release valid 2 months (monthly) or 13 (yearly) |
| Klap | Basic (40 of 100 clips) | $14 billed yearly ($168 up front); monthly not shown | Not stated |
| Submagic | Starter (4 of 15 videos) | $19, or $12 billed yearly | Not stated |
| Descript | Hobbyist (4 of 10 media hours; AI credits also apply) | $16, or $12 billed yearly | Not stated |
| Choppity | Creator (4 of 5 analysis hours; Starter's 3 is short) | $32, or $22.40 billed yearly | Projects kept forever on Creator |
| quso.ai | Lite, if a credit is a minute (not stated) | $29, or $19 billed yearly | Not stated |
| Kapwing | Pro (credit cost per clip not stated) | $24, or $16 billed yearly | Not stated |
| OpusClip | Pro (240 minutes exceeds Starter's 150) | $29, or $19.43 billed yearly | Expires after 60 days (monthly) or 12 months (yearly) |
Cliphi: 60 credits to process each hour plus 112.5 to render ten 45-second clips, at the Starter rate of $9.99 per 2,500 credits. Others use the vendor's stated meter. Checked September 14, 2026.
1. Cliphi: best for creators who post more than they upload
Cliphi is ours, so read this entry with that in mind and check the table above, which is the same for every tool. It charges one credit per minute of source video and a quarter of a credit per second of finished clip, and you see every moment scored and framed before you render, so rendering credits only go to clips you will post. Every feature is on every plan from $4.99: speaker tracking, word-by-word captions, a royalty-free music library, reactions recorded over a clip, supercuts, publishing to YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, Threads and X, and an agent API with an MCP server. Credits never expire; projects and clips are stored for 30 days, as on most tools here. It also clips livestreams while they are live, which none of the other seven lists.
Where it loses: output is 1080p, not 4K; there is no B-roll insertion; there are no team seats; and there is no free plan, so the cheapest way to try it is the $4.99 plan or a one-time credit pack. If any of those is a requirement, one of the next three tools fits better.
2. Vizard: best for 4K output and teams
Vizard meters the same way OpusClip does, one credit per minute processed, but its plans are more generous and its reviews are the best of the group at 4.7 from 2,520 on Trustpilot. Creator is $29 a month or $14.50 billed yearly for 600 minutes a month, watermark-free and 4K; Business at $39 or $19.50 adds a shared workspace, 20 social accounts, a brand kit and seats at $5 a month. Credits roll over automatically but each release is valid for 2 months on monthly plans and 13 on yearly, and unused Creator credits are lost if you upgrade to Business. The free tier is a demo: 60 minutes, 720p, a watermark and 3-day project expiry.
Pick Vizard over Cliphi if you need 4K, seats or AI B-roll. Pick Cliphi over Vizard if you want the whole feature set at $4.99, credits that never expire, or livestream clipping. The head-to-head is on the Cliphi vs Vizard page.
3. Klap: best when you take few clips from very long footage
Klap counts clips instead of minutes: Basic is 100 clips a month, Pro 300, Pro+ 1,000. The pricing page shows $14, $39 and $94 a month with 'billed yearly' under each and no monthly-billed price, so Basic is $168 up front. The first video is free with no card and no watermark, uploads go up to four hours, and captions come in 52 languages. Because source length is never charged, a six-hour stream you take five clips from costs about 70 cents of a Basic plan, against about $1.66 of credits on Cliphi.
The reviews are the caution: 3.4 from 42 on Trustpilot with 38 percent one-star, mostly about the yearly charge and cancelling. Details on the Cliphi vs Klap page.
4. Submagic: best for caption styling and B-roll
Submagic started as a captioning tool and its Magic Clips feature now cuts long videos into shorts too, with captions, silence removal and B-roll applied. Plans are metered in videos: Starter at $19 a month or $12 billed yearly covers 15 videos, Pro at $39 or $23 covers 40 and adds Storyblocks B-roll and three seats, Business at $69 or $41 covers 100 and adds 4K at 60 fps. Everything is watermark-free and 1080p from Starter up. The pricing page does not say what happens to unused credits.
Pick Submagic if the caption look and stock B-roll are the point. Cliphi's captions are word-by-word and animated too, but it does not insert B-roll; Cliphi wins on price for a weekly podcast ($4.99 versus $19) and on expiry.
5. Descript: best if you want to edit, not just clip
Descript is a transcript-based editor that also finds clips: its Create clips feature scans a recording, and you choose the count and length. Hobbyist is $16 a month or $12 billed yearly for 10 media hours and 400 AI credits with 1080p exports; Creator at $24 or $20 gives 30 hours, 800 credits and 4K. The Free plan is one hour at 720p with a watermark. The catch shows in its reviews, 2.7 from 286 on Trustpilot with 42 percent one-star: AI features consume credits, and heavy users report running out.
Pick Descript if you cut your own edits from the transcript and want clips as a byproduct. Pick a dedicated clipper if you want finished, captioned, framed clips without opening an editor.
6. Choppity: best all-in-one with scheduling and analytics
Choppity meters hours of AI analysis: Starter at $20 a month or $14 billed yearly gives 3 hours with 30-day project storage and scheduling to one account; Creator at $32 or $22.40 gives 5 hours, forever storage and 3 accounts; Team at $48 or $33.60 adds unlimited seats and 10 accounts. Exports are 1080p on paid plans. A weekly one-hour podcast needs Creator, since Starter's 3 hours run out.
Pick Choppity if you want to clip, schedule and read the analytics in one place. The Trustpilot sample is small (16 reviews, 3.3) and the page notes the company changed hands in late 2025.
7. quso.ai: best cheap scheduler with clipping attached
quso.ai, formerly vidyo.ai, bundles clipping with a scheduler for six platforms. Lite is $29 a month or $19 billed yearly for 100 credits (200 on annual), with 1080p clips in all three aspect ratios; Essential at $39 or $26 adds filler and silence removal; Growth at $49 or $33 adds an AI content assistant. The free plan is 75 credits at 720p with 7-day data retention. The pricing page does not state what a credit buys in minutes, so the workload cost is an estimate until you sign up.
Pick quso.ai if scheduling to many platforms at a low yearly price matters more than the clipper. It has one Trustpilot review, so there is no reliable signal on support either way.
8. Kapwing: best if you already edit in Kapwing
Kapwing is a browser video editor with an AI Clip Maker on top: describe the clip you want and it pulls candidates from the footage, resizes and captions them. Pro is $24 a month or $16 billed yearly for 1,000 credits, 4K exports and 100 GB of storage; Business at $64 or $50 gives 4,000 credits. Free is 720p with a watermark and exports capped at four minutes. The credit cost of a clip is not stated on the pricing page.
Pick Kapwing if the editor is your daily tool and clips are a side task. Its Trustpilot score is 1.9 from 1,370 reviews, and the recurring complaint is that basic features sit behind the subscription.
How to choose
Start from the workload, not the feature list. If you post several clips per video every week, the meter matters most, and the credit-plus-render model is cheapest (Cliphi). If you take a few clips from very long footage, per-clip pricing wins (Klap). If the output must be 4K or a team shares the account, go to Vizard. If captions and B-roll are the product, Submagic. If you want to edit the whole video by its transcript, Descript. If you want clipping, scheduling and analytics under one login, Choppity. Whatever you shortlist, run the same episode through two of them before paying for a year of either; every tool here has a free tier, a free first video or a plan under $10.
Made with Cliphi
Real clips, real reach, published to Instagram Reels, Facebook Reels, and YouTube Shorts.
How we checked: 10 sources, each read on the date shown
- OpusClip pricing, credits, plans and project-retention articleschecked September 14, 2026
- Vizard pricing and help center (credit validity)checked September 14, 2026
- Klap pricing and clipping tool pagechecked September 14, 2026
- Submagic pricing and Magic Clips feature pagechecked September 14, 2026
- Descript pricing and Create clips help articlechecked September 14, 2026
- Choppity pricingchecked September 14, 2026
- quso.ai pricingchecked September 14, 2026
- Kapwing pricing and AI Clip Maker pagechecked September 14, 2026
- Trustpilot profiles for each vendorchecked September 14, 2026
- Cliphi pricingchecked September 14, 2026
Frequently asked questions
More comparisons
OpusClip alternative: Cliphi vs OpusClip (2026)
OpusClip charges by the minute you upload and its credits expire. Cliphi charges for what you process and render, includes every feature on every plan, and keeps your credits. Every number below comes from the vendors' own pages.
OpenVizard alternative: Cliphi vs Vizard (2026)
Vizard is a capable clipper with a real free tier. Cliphi is the pick when you want every feature at the entry price, credits that keep, and clips from a livestream while it is still on. Every number below comes from the vendors' own pages.
OpenKlap alternative: Cliphi vs Klap (2026)
Klap counts clips and shows yearly-billed prices. Cliphi counts the minutes you process and the seconds you render, bills monthly, and includes every feature on every plan. Which is cheaper depends on how you work; every number below was read on the vendors' own pages on September 14, 2026.
OpenTry the one at the top of the list
Paste a video. The clips come back captioned, framed and scored, ready to post.
or